This website provides a comprehensive overview of the information submitted by the Member States of the European Union (EU) and candidate countries in their 2011 annual reports to the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES). In 2011 there were 27 Member States and five candidate countries. It describes their trade in species listed in the Appendices to CITES and the Annexes of the EU Wildlife Trade Regulations, which enforce CITES in the EU.

EU Member States and candidate countries in 2011 © European Commission.

During 2011, the relevant EU Wildlife Trade Regulations were Council Regulation (EC) No 338/97, amended by  (EU) No 709/2010, and Implementing Regulation (EC) No 865/2006 amended by (EC) No 100/2008.

Data on trade between EU Member States, trade in artificially propagated Appendix-II plants, and re-exports of manufactured articles were excluded from the analysis. Trade recorded as a seizure/confiscation (source ‘I’) was also excluded, as reporting is inconsistent and incomplete within the CITES Trade Database. Where appropriate, conversion factors were applied to terms and units to facilitate analysis.

Throughout the text, certain country names have been abbreviated; a key to these abbreviations is provided in the Glossary.

Annual reports included

The 2011 data used for the analysis were taken from the CITES Trade Database on the 8th of April 2013[1], following the submission of CITES annual reports by Member States and key trading partners.

Click here to view details of the 74 non-EU CITES Parties and dependent territories (including all five candidate countries) that had submitted their annual reports for 2011 at the time of the analysis.

[1] Annual reports for 2011 were received from two candidate countries after this date (FYR Macedonia and Iceland), and the data has been included in the analysis.